top of page


Let's discover the "4C"



Beautiful, sparkling and highly desired. Each Diamond is unique and, like fingerprints, has unique peculiarities that are classified using the famous 4 C's. Let's see in detail these characteristics and how they are described by the 4 Cs: Cut, Clarity, Carat, Color.







With Purity we define the degree of inclusions present within a Diamond. The inclusions represent, gemmologically speaking, the internal defects visible with a 10X lens or external imperfections. For example, a Diamond that has no inclusions and external imperfections visible at 10X is to be considered pure.


To determine the Purity we use the following reference scale:

IF - No visible inclusions at 10x magnification

VVS - Inclusions so light they are difficult for an experienced grader to see at 10x magnification

VS - Inclusions are observed with effort at 10x magnification, but can be characterized as minor

YES - Inclusions are evident with 10x magnification

I - Inclusions are evident at 10x magnification which can affect transparency and brilliance

From these degrees of purity it should be noted that sub-degrees are also used, for example SI1 - SI2 or VVS1 or VVS2. All this to determine, always in the same degree a greater or lesser level of inclusion.







The most important factor in the world of diamonds: the cut. This element turns out to be so important because it defines, with its judgment, the reaction of the facets with the light. The goal therefore is to maximize other factors such as Symmetry, Proportions and Polishing to have a brightness that makes the Diamond as brilliant as possible.











As for the other parameters, the Color, which defines the natural tone of the colorless Diamond, is also defined by means of a reference scale. For this parameter, a color scale is used, defined by the letter D (first reference color for colorless) up to the letter Z.

DEF: Colorless
GHIJ: Almost colorless
KLM: Pale yellow
NOPQR: Very light yellow
> Z: Fancy Color











Carat (Measure)

The Carat defines the weight of a Diamond. It is a very ancient unit of measurement and corresponds to one fifth of the gram. To give an idea, a one-carat diamond weighs about 0.2 grams, so for just one gram it takes 5 carats. It is important to keep in mind that the price of the diamond does not increase mathematically in relation to its weight, for example a 4-carat diamond will not cost twice as much as a 2-carat diamond, with the same cut, color and purity but it will cost, for obvious reasons, much more.

Schermata 2020-03-16 alle 14.43.50.png
Schermata 2020-03-16 alle 14.43.44.png
Schermata 2020-03-16 alle 14.43.37.png
bottom of page